The Crafty Chemist

Me and my Crafting

Wholly Guacamole! I actually finished something September 26, 2010

Filed under: Crafts,Knitting,knitting class,Project — CC @ 10:48 am
Tags: , , ,

I actually finished a project that is larger than a scarf or a hat. I’m one of those people who like to start projects and not finish them. I get bored rather easily. I guess the one thing that helped is that I did this project for a class at my lys, Yarn Gallery.

The project was Fiber Trends Fabulous Felt Tote. I did the smallest size since I am currently taking a “learn to knit socks on DPNs” at the store. The yarn used for my project was Ester Bitran Andes Hand-dyed. I used color-way 13. It’s a blend of pink/olive. As the novelty yarn, I used Muench Fabu in colorway M4325

DSCN0930Yarn

I did the bag a bit differently than printed in the pattern. I modeled mine after the store sample. So the novelty was used in the majority of the bag and not the top portion. But I did have to skip about 1 1/2 inches of the top border since I would have ran out of yarn were I to do the stated length.

Here is the unfelted bag and the felted bag (the felted picture was taken while the bag was drying).

I think I’m going to line it since I probably could have felted it a bit longer. It doesn’t seem as sturdy as the shop sample, nor as small. But it’s the first time I’ve felted anything and I was a bit scared that I’d get a matted mess of felted yarn out of the washer so I was very conservative with the felting time.

But I did buy yarn to make another one, this time I’ll be making the medium size. But that will come after I’ve finished my socks I’m working on for class and get my scarfs done that I started this summer (both in classes at the lys).

 

Leave a comment